Posterior Malleous Fracture Help

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hey everyone! 5 weeks ago I fractured my ankle hiking, it was nondisplaced and a posterior malleous fracture. No cast or surgery required as everything is lined up and stable amd was put in a walking boot amd NWB.

I just had my follow up to review xrays from my 4 week mark and they show no significant healing. I guess there is some healing but nothing crazy. This is my first time breaking bone and wondering if this is normal sad

I've been elevating almost constantly, swelling has gone down, bruising is easing and in no pain at all. Doctor mentioned that at 6 weeks we may see much more healing but I go back in for xrays next week for a 6 week scan.

Hopefully I'm freaking out over nothing and I ca get back on my feet soon.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Gardo, 

I also broke significant bones for the first time ever this year, and it took a long time for them to heal. I'm not sure how old you are, but I'm 42 and the doctor told me that bones don't heal as well the older you get.  At my 6 week x-ray there was still a very clear separation between the bones with only a very faint shadow of new bone growth. I re-shattered my elbow at 8 weeks into my first recovery so I'm not sure if there would have been more bone growth at that point. Before my second accident the doctor was saying that if she did not see more bone growth she was going to start me on a bone stimulator, and that would help.

The doctor did tell me not to worry, that they only really start to worry after you have had a few months of no bone growth at all. She said health history can play a part in how well your body can grow new bone.

My second accident required surgery and so did my third, so the first break is the only point of reference I have for you.