POTS syndrome with bradycardia?...

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have recently been diagnosed with POTS syndrome, I also have hypermobility syndrome and early onset arthritis. Anyway, I went to the hospital last year as I noticed my heart rate (not resting) had dropped from 52bps (resting) to 41bps (middle of the day, sat up) They first said I must be very fit, I'm not VERY fit, I am in shape but due to pain in my legs I can't do more than a bit of walking. Anyway, they since diagnosed me with POTS syndrome bit haven't actually looked at A. why I have a very low bpm (when not standing and B. why it has dropped so much in the last 8 years. Had anyone else got any experience? The DR told me I just have a low heart rate, I could accept that if it hadn't already dropped further.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi

I'm not a doctor, but I do have two young adult children (18 & 25), who both have Ehlers Danlos Syndrome and POTS which is one of a number of possible symptoms of Dysautomnia.

My understanding is that with POTS there is actually nothing wrong with the structure of your heart, the problem is with the central nervous system which gets its messages with the brain in a muddle. It sounds as though your symptoms are quite mild, but basically your brain is telling your blood pressure to slow down when toy are lying down and then when you sit or stand it sort of goes Whoa, marathon coming up and raises very quickly. It can cause severe tachycardia, but I don't think thay can actually do anything its a case of managing the symptoms!

The liklihood is that your GP has never had a patient with your condition, so you may need to do all the researching yourself. There is a leading national centre at Queen Square led by Prof. Mathias, you could ask for a referral or just contact them and ask for their information and also if they have some support groups that you could join.

Big hugs xxx

• Posted