Pre-Assessment to surgery waiting time?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello,

I'm after some advice please! I have been told my 10cm ovarian cyst needs surgically removing, so I am waiting on a surgery date. Today, I got through my Pre-Assessment appointment which is scheduled for 5th June. Does anyone know how quickly I'm likely to have the operation following this? Also, will I be told on the day when my operation is or should I find out before/after?

I'm a teacher so I need to let my work know as soon as possible so the correct cover can be put into place. Also - I'd like to know what the procedure is so I can put my mind to rest!

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rebecca

1 like, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hello Rebecca

Sorry to hear that you are going through this but how did you fond out you had a cyst? Did you have any symptons?

• Posted

If your having unusual symptoms ask the dr for an ultrasound. That's how mine was discovered. I was having other symptoms which may not be related as I'm still having some of them but classic cyst symptoms are needing to wee more often, sometimes pelvic pain, pain during sex, bloating.

I had an investigation due to bleeding more than just my period but I still am a year after cyst removal and it never stopped so it probably wasn't the cyst causing it.

• Posted

I think my pre assessment was only a week or 2 before surgery but I think it can vary. Normally they do bloods and check your well before surgery so they don't want to leave it to long as your health can change obviously if you get a cold or an infection.

i had a laparoscopy which is 3 small incisions under general anaesthetic, mine was 10cm on scan also but bigger when they got in. Depending on the type of cyst I think sometimes they need to do 1 bigger cut which is a longer recovery.