Prednisone and Blood Sugar

Posted , 10 users are following.

I thought I'd share some of my experiences with blood sugar because when I first started taking prednisone at 20mg my diet was terrible, and I never got any guidance from my Rheumatologist.  Net result?  I've lost considerable feeling in my feet.  lesson learned:  doctors here are NOT looking out for me.  I have to do that, and so I am.

I went to my GP, and he put me on Metformin to lower my sugar a bit.  Then I set out to learn how to be a good little diabetic, and so I did, reducing my sugar levels from catastrophic to merely dangerous in the long term.  Not being satisfied with that I continued to research diabetes, and I am still learning because eating with a blood sugar problem is part science, and part art.  However, after I got my sugar under some control, I decided to investigate what if anything I could do about prednisone's affect on my blood sugar.  I should point out that I was pre diabetic before taking prednisone, but then with the horrible diet I had, I wasn't shocked when I discovered that I now had medically induced diabetes.

So, after learning to eat better...and I do, I also learned that I can exercise and take up good amounts of excess blood sugar in the muscles, and organs.  It works, but its more complicated than that.  First, at high levels prednisone interferes with the ability of muscles to take in sugar.  I also discovered that when you take prednisone, and I take it at 7:30 AM that it starts to enter your system, and seems to form a bell curve starting to rise very rapidly by noon, and then starting to come down after 6 PM.   If I have any meal at all between noon and six I can be certain of a serious spike in my blood sugar, one that may or may not respond to exercise.