Pregnancy and Fibromyalgia

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hey, I was wondering if anyone else with Fibromyalgia found that it pretty much disapeared during pregnancy? I'm still very early on (10 weeks) but have been off my meds for 6 weeks now (on doctors advice to try not to take anything if I can help it) and I feel amazing. I'm hoping it lasts throughout the whole pregnancy and beyond to be honest. Before I got pregnant, somedays I could barely walk, my hands, hamstrings, elbows and shoulders were so stiff and sore. And my feet used to be agony after my 9 hour shifts at work (I'm a chef so stand pretty much all day). Now I can do my 9 hour shifts AND even walk round ASDA food shopping for an hour after work without feeling pained or tired. So my real question is, will all this come back after I've had the baby? I'm hoping I was wrongly diagnosed tbh and I was only diagnosed roughly 3 months prior to getting pregnant. Any thoughts are greatly appreciated x

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hope you're right.  I didn't get better throughout my pregnancies and even developed some new ones which have stayed with me ever since.  Enjoy your symtom release time but try not to over do it.  Boom and bust - you could be in a boom and bust worse cos you have been over doing it now.  Gently does it.  Enjoyx 
  • Posted

That is so very interesting. We know in part (or in whole) fibro has to do with parts of the brain & obviously some brain chemicals. 

I have dopamine issues & go bat poo crazy a month or two after I quit smoking, guessing due to the long term drop in dopamine. Tobacco keeps me sane. BUT when I was pregnant, I was totally fine. Totally. No cravings or crazy.

I wonder what biochemical changes happen during pregnancy that can make such differences like these?

• Posted