Problems at work need help

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have rheumatiod arthritis . Diagnosed in 2000 . I work as a receptionist 

in a vet pratice . A and have worked there for 14 years . I'm doing really well at the moment with my arthritis . But having problems at work with my line manager . She complaining I don't carry heavy cats out back to the hospital . And large dogs on leads if they pull . She is complaining to the area manager that at home I do gardening housework etc . I feel I'm beinging badly treated as never had a problem with anyone else in 14 years . Has any one had the same sort of problem . As would like to know the out come . I'm thinking of putting in a complaint to The HR Department . 

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Make the HR department aware of your condition. I can't speak for the UK, but in the US they must, by law, make reasonable accommodations for you [which would mean you wouldn't lift anything weighing X pounds].

BTW - in the vet's offices here in the US, the receptionist never leaves the desk. Instead, the Vet Techs or Groomers or other staff bring the animals to the exam rooms.

• Posted

Thank you for your reply . HR are aware of my condition , but not of the problems I'm having . I'm signed off sick at the moment with the stress it's causing me . But once back will let them know . Thank you for your help .
  • Posted

Go to the union or join the union. Really, this is disgusting. The union can help. 

Request  a meeting where you can have a third party present. Make sure minutes are taken as thee are a legal document and ask the line manager to attend. At the meeting establish the question and ask if it is the case that she is asking you to do thee things at work. Once it is minuted, it is recorded legally. You can ask HR to set up the meeting and you are entitled not to be bullied at work.

• Posted