Psa 9.2 rectum exam clear 39 years old

Posted , 7 users are following.

hi I had a psa test done and it was 9.2 which is really high of someone my age. The doctor gave me a rectum exam and didn't feel anything. But he said he will take it seriously and will refer me I have no symptoms I do get an  achy bad lower back but I put that down to lifting  heavy weights down the gym and I'm a driver for a living  obviously I'm really worried do any of you have advice for me thanks

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

PSA's are notorious for false positives.  Did the doctor do a second PSA or different kind of test?  That would be the next step. 
  • Posted

He did a rectum exam he could not feel anything I'm having another psa next week
  • Posted

Hi Spursmad,

Although an elevated PSA is a good reason to be concerned, do not panic or be alarmed. As PAEgreat pointed out, PSA tests sometimes provide inaccurate results. An elevated PSA level could indicate prostate cancer or a noncancerous condition such as prostatitis or an enlarged prostate. Men in their 50s or younger usually have a PSA reading of 2.5 or lower.  You pointed out that you exercised with weights, had sex, and your doctor did a digital rectal exam before the test. All those factors could be affecting the accuracy of your PSA test.

Here are some other factors that could also affect the accuracy of a PSA test.  Wait 48 hours or more before doing a PSA if you have done any of these things:  

1) Riding a bike, motorcycle, a tractor, a horse or anything that puts pressure on the prostate region.

2) Driving a truck for extended periods puts pressure on the prostate.

3) Having sex or participating in any activity that involves ejaculation.

4) Getting a prostate massage.

5) Participating in vigorous exercise that could jostle the prostate area.

6) Having a digital rectal exam. (Always schedule your exam after you have a PSA test).