PSA nearly doubles after Greelight Procedure.

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi All. I had Green Light Procedure on December 17th. Took a good month to stop all the bleeding and all healed up fine. Went to the Urologist for my last follow up two weeks ago and he said all is well. I had a PSA test before I left. Was told today that my PSA is 9.5. Before the GL procedure it was 5.9. I had two Biopsies the latest being about a year ago. No Cancer found in either one. Usually PSA goes down after GL. Urologist wants to wait until mid April for a PSA retest. Any one out there ever heard of this happening after Green Light? System I be thinking about a third Biopsy? Thanks..

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Nick,

I am not a doctor or clinician, but I would suggest getting a multiparametric (mp) MRI scan to see what is going on in your prostate. A 5.9 PSA reading before having Green Light laser is considered high. A TRUS biopsy regularly misses 40% of clinically significant cancer. The fact that you had two previous TRUS biopsies that were negative does not mean that prostate cancer is not present. Personally, I would avoid any future TRUS biopsies. My advice would be to get an mp MRI scan and if any suspicious areas show up, then ask for an in-bore MRI guided biopsy targeting just the suspicious area. Please feel free to message me if you have trouble locating a facility to get this done.

Best wishes,

Henry

• Posted

My PSA was 9.8 prior to my GL procedure... big prostate it was 75 grms = high PSA. About a month later when checked it was down to 5.1.

Over the years my prostate regrew to 135 grms and PSA up to around 7.8. After next procedure PSA came down to 0.74 and nearly six years later it is 0.70.

• Posted

What was next procedure? Thanks.

• Posted