Psoriasis is ruining my life.

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi guys,

I've had Psoriasis ever since I was 3. I have tried numerous treatments, mostly creams, most of them being steroids and some herbal. I had been able to control it using those for quite a while, up until now that is.

I was encouraged to be in the sunlight by my GP but being in the UK that is really hard, the Summer we've just had wasn't much of a summer either. When it is sunny I can't go out wearing shorts or short sleeves due to how bad it is.

I am about to start my second year in college and it has gotten much worse over summer. Nobody would guess I suffered from Psoriasis from a distance from the way I dress but I fear I won't be able to hide it much longer, over summer it started spreading to my hands and steroids can't get rid of it, touching my keyboard hurts my hand, I can't wash the dishes and I have to keep hiding my hand from people.

I am currently studying Computing at College, hoping to study Computer Science at Uni, this problem has already affected my social life, at times I even skipped school because of how bad it got. Due to the stress I have started losing a lot of hair, it was great just a few months ago - stress is a killer! If I can't even touch the keyboard how on earth will I pass?

I spoke to my GP about Photo-therapy about 3 weeks ago and I've had no contact at all from them or the Dermatology clinic. Many people link Psoriasis to stress and I try to stay happy but the problem is that the moment you see it, what it is doing it, how it is affecting your present and future it gets too much.

Balding itself doesn't worry me too much but the fact that I have Psoriasis on my scalp would just make me want to hide in my room, some of it is quite visible already. I have used various shampoos and although they tend to stop the build up of flakes the redness itself doesn't go away.