Puzzled

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi folks.  I have had HS for around 15 years but have just had a new experience with it which has me confused and I wonder if anyone could clarify it please.

Around 5 months ago I got a big squishy lump by my shoulder blades which I think was a cyst.  Anyway I ignored it but around 10 days ago it became infected overnight.  

I went to the doctor who  gave me ab's Erythromycin which I took for 2 days but made me feel sick.  So I changed to doxyclycline which usually clears them.   It hasn't.  

It has gone down by about 3/4 but it is still infected and painful with lots of impacted matter still there.  

My questions are:    It is a very unusual place to have one for me,  I have never had a cyst go bad before,   and is the only option now to lance it?   Will the surgery be able to do it?

Thanks.   Bev x

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Sounds like either you've built up a tolerance to doxycycline, or the infection is not covered by that particular antibiotic. For example, when mine get infected, I usually get proteus infections, and doxycyclines do not cover those. Erythromycin is great for staph infections, but there are a lot of bacteria that are resistant to it now-a-days, proteus for example.

It could be that another antibiotic will take care of it, but your best bet is to have it lanced. I know with mine, once the infection gets to a certain point, antibiotics alone won't take care of it, they actually have to open it up and let the infection out. They'll send the pus out for analysis and should have a better idea of what antiobiotic will work next time you get an infection.

If this is a recurring cyst in the exact same spot, you might want to look into having it surgically excised by a dermatologist. Once one of my cysts started to get infected, they just kept getting reinfected within a few months time. Sorry to hear your HS is progressing this way. Good luck!

• Posted