Query hypertension

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have been monitoring my bp and I suspect I might have high blood pressure.I have been monitoring same for three yrs and cardiologist and gp thought they were ok. Echo three years ago reported my heart is in good condition. Saw cardio as had an abnormal eeg but everything ok. Recently bp is high with home monitor. I am keeping weekly chart to show to my go as I want to be fitted with ambulatory monitor before taking any medication. I do get anxious watching the monitor goes up when recording as I can tell if the readings are going to be high by how much the cuffs are inflated. I do not think I am getting a true reading e.g this am first reading 152/94 p80. second reading 1 min apart 137/88 p69 and thurd reading 138/87 p 68 averaging 140/90. My first readings are always high. I can also bring bp down by 10 mins brisk walking exercise but it last long. I am just interested to know how do you get diagnosed with high bp. I am 70 old woman who takes statins. The highest first readings just below 170 and diastolic be low 100 on odd occasion. Pl can anybody share their experience. Thanks

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hello Marie,

The readings you have posted don't look overly high to me, although I am not a doctor.

When you take your BP readings are you doing it in the prescribed manner?

Sitting in a quiet room with your arm resting on a table, relaxing for ten minutes before you take the test?

Your BP will fluctuate through the day depending on a whole raft of variable factors so spikes and troughs should be disregarded, you want to be looking at the main trend . I tend to check mine a couple of times a day over a week or two and plot the results on a graph using Excel, but I spend a lot of my working life looking at graphs and trends and I'm a bit nerdy like that. It does make it easier to see the general trend though.

• Posted