Question About Delirium Tremens

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi. Newbie here but I've abused alcohol since is was 20. I'm 29 now. Daily drinker of a liter of liquor or one of the big bottles of wine. I had my last drink Sunday morning at 6am. By 8pm I was hallucinating seeing spiders and worms on my walls. Flashes of light. Noises that weren't there. By 10pm I tried getting up for water and had no control of my body. Fell over with full body tremors that lasted all night. My head was shaking resting on my pillow. Cold sweats, hot flashes, clammy, no sleep, my saliva felt thick and hard to swallow, I was afraid to sleep because my heart was pounding and I thought I would die in my sleep. I got a little sleep this afternoon (Monday). It's now 2am Tuesday morning and I feel much better. Still a little jumpy to sudden loud noises and hands slightly shaky. My question: since I'm feeling better, am I in the clear from DTs? Did I already have them? If I only experienced hallucinations and shakes, would there be a gradual increase to DTs or is it possible for me to feel better now and still get the DTs in a day or two? I've been taking a multivitamin but can't afford to miss work so I'm scared. Thanks in advance for any help!

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

You must seek medical care. Medication is the way forwar d. No time now since going to work. Will make longer reply this evening.

• Posted

Are your hands still shaking? Dt's can still be deadly even after just 72 hrs after no alcohol.

• Posted

Yes but not nearly as badly. I'm back to the normal slight hand tremors I've had since childhood. I've always had essential tremors. I'm no longer hallucinating but still having trouble with insomnia and night sweats.

• Posted