RA and Nutrition

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hello All,

Please forgive me if this subject is already covered. I have only just joined this site and forum. If there is an alphabetic list or index to Forum topics, of course I shall use it. I am not a medic. But, I am a highly qualified engineer and scientific.

Fortunately, I do not suffer from RA, myself but I am here on behalf of my wife, who is a non-computer person. I do the research for her.

We are both for "natural" healing, where that is possible, and so was our previous doctor, in particular. Since most drugs started with extracts from plants, I think that it makes a whole lot of scientific sense to look to plants to see if an improvement, or even a cure, lies there. After all, it is likely that Mother Nature is far better at synthesising the often very complex molecules she needs than manufacturing companies, however large. It is often greed and arrogance for anyone to think otherwise. So there you have a bit of me. I have nailed my colours  the mast ! My wife is the patient, not me, but we are both in total agreement on what I have just said.

Sadly, my wife is not very good at taking any medicines. She just does not remember. But here are some items that may be of interest to some of you.

Margaret Hills is an author who, as a 23 year old trainee nurse, was struck down with RA. She was determined to try to find a "natural" way of treating herself. Either from her book(s), or from elsewhere, I found that bathing in epsom salt solution  was recommended, also taking pure, organic, blackstrap molasses was better than sugar. Molasses contains all the goodness that is refined out of the sugar.

I am now, through a group called Trimdown, going to look at special mushroom formulations that are rich in Beta Glucans. I shall report back on how my wife does.

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted