Raised Ferritin

Posted , 4 users are following.

MY FERRITIN LEVELS ARE HIGH AND I AM NOW HAVING V/SECTION I AM NOW ON TO MY 4th BUT MY LEVELS HAVE RISEN ANYONE ELSE HAD THIS

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi Mark, yeah, absolutely nothing to worry about at all. I've been venesecting for over two years now and have seen my ferretin levels jump up'n'down a number of times. I think it happens to most folk for some reason. As long as the longer-term general trend is down the way you'll be fine

• Posted

HI THANKS FOR THE REPLY I AM JUST CONCERNED THAT AFTER 3 IT HASNT CAME DOWN BUT WENT UP FROM 949 TO 2005 AND DONT REALLY KNOW IF THAT IS A BIG INCREASE

• Posted

That is a big jump. It could be due to some inflammation caused by some infection (even a cold), how is your liver?, alcohol, an injury. If it is caused by one or more of these, your ferritin levels will reduce once the problem goes away.

As a heads up, it helps if you let us know what your HFE gene/s are. It determines how aggressive your haemochromatosis is as not all haemochromatosis is equal, your TS% as well as your ferritin. What were your levels when diagnosed and how long ago.

Are you having weekly venesections? I expect so given your ferritin level of 949.

Let us know how you go.

• Posted

HI SHERYL HAD A ULTRASOUND ON MY LIVER TONIGHT THEY SAID IT LOOKED FINE

REGARDS

MARK

• Posted

That's good, it eliminates a more serious inflammation. Anything else happening with you?

• Posted

I HAVE A FIBRO SCAN IN A COUPLE OF WEEKS AND I HAVE JUST HAD A DEXA SCAN ABOUT 3 WEEKS AGO OTHER THAN THAT NOTHING

REGARDS

MARK

• Posted

No pain or anything? A fibro scan seems to indicate you are investigating the cause of pain.

• Posted

If your joints are inflamed, that wlll cause your ferritin to increase. But it is still a big increase. Hopefully your next blood test will show a natural reduction. My husband was recommended osteo panadol to help reduce pain and inflammation.

• Posted