Rate of iron reduction following venesection

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all,

I've recently been diagnosed with GH and will be starting venesection soon. As I work in the aviation industry, I've had my medical certificate suspended until my iron levels can be shown to be maintained at a normal level.

Can anyone with experience of this advise how long it might take to get my iron back to normal levels (currently I'm at around 900ug/l and 90% transferrin saturation).

I realise this will depend on various factors, but just a rough idea - 3 months? A year? I am a 40 year old male, in otherwise good health.

Thanks in advance for your help..

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

When I was diagnosed at 46 years old, my ferritin level was 2,800.

It took about 2 1/2 years to get my ferritin down to the mid 300's.

I was doing venesections every two weeks for the first 6 months slowing to every month into the first year.

• Posted

Wow, that is longer than I thought!

Thanks for the reply, I hope you are in good health now.

• Edited

Hi

You have very similar figures to mine before I started giving blood: I'll copy my last post here:

"A quick update: I've been on a monthly blood donation (specially organised as a 'Haemochromatosis Donor' to allow monthly donations for five or six months now... I've just had a blood test, and I am down to a good level of Ferritin 39 (was 900 or so), and Trnsferrin sat Index: 45% (was 90%).

So it's taken about 10 or so venesections over 14 months to get down to that level."

As I mentioned, I had words with https://www.blood.co.uk/ and they sorted out allowing monthly donations, which are otherwise at 3 month intervals minimum.

Good luck.

• Posted