re-hip opp

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi all, well i'm 5 hours post opp, I feel great, just had a great meal, some slow acting pain relief, the nurses aregreat so's the hospital 5*, they will get me up tomorrow, and I had a spinal block , don't remember a thing , very pleased 

3 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lynne

Great to hear that you came through it well.....I had spinal blocks for my 2 THR's  I thought they were great.....much better than a general anaesthetic

Love

Eileen

• Posted

Hi

I'm a bit of a newbie, after having just started a thread re hip OA.  Just read your latest, and am pleased that op has been successful.  Can you tell me, was it a hip replacement?

• Posted

8 days on from yourpost.  How are you now?  I will be having my hip re-placed on Dec 17th and in recent weeks have become so inconvenienced by the pain and limp that I am looking forward to having it sorted.  It was very re-assuring to read your post.  I am told there are many do's and dont's immediately following the operation and wonder how long before you can resume light tasks about the house.
    • Posted

Hi

Are you in the UK.....there are slightly different rrules and regs here as to USA

Here its 6 weeks after the op. Its what they call the 90 degree rule

If you are sitting on a chair, you are not supposed to bend forward to even pick up a coffee cupeek the table should be the same height.

You have to turn....not swivel like we normally do, its about  different movements to turn around.

Not insured to drive until you see your consultant after 6 weeks and get the all clear.....Possibly if your appointment is later than that you might get permission.....but 6 weeks minimum not driving.

Sleep on your back for 6 weeks.

It sounds awful but it goes over....I've had 2 thr'swink

You should go to a group physio class before the operation and they give you a list of do's and donts.