Really need advice - new to asthma

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hey everyone. I have a few questions about asthma.

I'm fairly new to asthma, being diagnosed with it only a year ago. It was manageable until a few days ago. I had to go to ER cause I couldn't stand it anymore and my rescue inhaler was only doing the minimal. The ER doc just listened to my lungs and said they sounded ok but gave me 40 mg prednisone and said to use my rescue inhaler (Ventolin HFA) until I see my PCP.

**Here are my questions:

(I'd like to add that my asthma is due to allergies)**

1. Everytime I take a deep breath, I can hear mucus stuck in my lungs. Sometimes it can be coughed out (rare) but most of the time it's just in there. Is this part of asthma?

2. I don't cough very much. Here and there. Mainly after I have to use my inhaler a lot. Is that normal? I thought asthma made people cough?

3. I was given by my PCP a few months ago 2 different types of medicines. One is Singulair (oral pill) and the other is Arnuity Ellipta (inhalation powder). Have you tried either of these? I was going to start the Singulair tonight.

4. Is yours worse when lying down? I feel like everytime I lay down to try to sleep that it gets worse. At this point, I don't know if it's anxiety or real symptoms or both.

And any other advice anyone would like to offer?? I would be so grateful. I recently purchased an air purifier as I do have animals and one sleeps on a dog bed in my room and I know that's most of my problem is animal allergies.

Thank you!!!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted