Really struggling with RA and its treatments...

Posted , 14 users are following.

Hello im new to this but really struggling, iv always worked hard and people use to say slow down and my answer was 'im working hard now because one day il have Grandma duties and that's when I slow dow' On my 50th birthday in August I started with pains in my right hand through t h e months and endless doctor visits and hospital appointments by December I was unable to dress myself without pain or walk with support, they started me on Methotrexate tablets, which caused nausea so was changed to injections weekly, thus caused high liver readings so I was then changed to Leflunomide tablets and after a few weeks seemed to be picking up but then I had continual breathlessness and blistering to my face so again this treatment didnt suit. Iv now been on Hydroxyquin 4 weeks and symptoms seem to be getting worse, its so painful to shower, dress just the basic things we do daily. Im now 53 and have 2 gorgeous grandchildren, with the eldest being 9 months who I try to help with ....like I always said when Grandma duties come along il stop, unfortunately I cant get going, it breaks my heart to not be able enjoy the time with him, I still try to work a little but once home I head to my room and just dont want to see anyone, its so hard to think positive when your in such pain 24/7

I know through reading other stories im not the only one dealing with this but hope to find some light on how to get through it and enjoy making fun memories with my Grandchildren

Xxx

1 like, 79 replies

79 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Has any of you medical team mentioned you may have PMR. You need Prednisone.
  • Posted