Recent change in benefits for me.

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi all thanks for taking the time to look at my thread. I've been claiming ESA for nearly 2 years now due to physical and mental health problems which has left me housebound. I recently had an assessment for pip of which I was successful. I was back dated the pip. My ESA was also bumped up due to the severe disability allowance category being added. My pip runs until Jan 2021. My ESA assessment again I expect will be in the next few months, but will having sda added and already having the assessment for pip come into consideration as another health assessment? Or will I still be expecting to do another ESA assessment? Thank you in advance.

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Yer I've just had another assessment for PIP. Now have to have one for ESA.

• Posted

Hi, am afraid you will need to do another ESA assessment as its different criteria to PIP, and the 2 departments dont speak to one another! I am in the same position as you, but you might not need to do a face to face assessment though if you have provided enough evidence of your illnesses/treatment etc., I have just filled in my ESA forms and sent in copy of medicine list, & hospital report etc., with it. So I am waiting on them getting back to me on whether I will need another assessment  sad will let you know,

• Posted

I had both my ESA and PIP reviews around the same time. The letters came almost together. I had to have another assessment for PIP. For ESA i had enough evidence to make a paper based decision so no assessment was needed. I was kept in the Support Group. Hopefully you won't need another assessment either. Good luck.

• Posted

I already have appointmentsupported for next week. But hopefully everything will be ok. I have evidence I can take with me, so might help.
    • Posted