Recent diagnosis

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was just diagnosed today with hypothyroidism. I have been extremely worried all day about the risks for infertility. Please if anyone knows anything about pregnancy with already diagnosed hypothyroid & already being on medication, please let me know.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Kmass,

I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, Hashimoto, and pcos! I got pregnant and welcomed my baby girl a year ago at the ripe age of 37! I had all odds against me. I was healthy and my baby was healthy. No pregnancy complications. I would suggest eat a

healthy diet and exercise. Your doctor will closely monitor you if you become pregnant.

• Posted

Hello Kmass:

My name is Shelly and I am a Nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

As long as you take your Thyroid medication and keep your levels in good shape you will be able to conceive.  Do take a multi-vitamin with iron as Ferritin is a component of Iron and is needed to make the thyroid medication work.

Always take your Thyroid med on an empty stomach and do not eat for 1 hour.  If you have food in your stomach it will block the medication from working.

Now taking your thyroid medication helps a FSH (follicle stimunlating hormone) which is needed to ripen an egg up for fertilization.  So Eat fresh foods and eat fish, chicken, lean meats, do not eat junk and ready made foods.  Stay away from Gluten as it bothers the thyroid.

Have a mineral panel (blood levels):  to include Potassium, calcium, magnesium, Iron, ferritin, sodium, and Vit B-12 and Vit D.  This will help make sure you are not low in important minerals and vitamins needed for good health.

Keep us posted, and any questions just ask.

Shelly

• Posted

Hi Shelly