Recent ETD Diagnosis

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone, I'm brand new to all of this.  Is the picture I'm getting from the discussions posted here as grim as it sounds?  I've gone 3 weeks with clogged ears.  The ringing, pressure, poor hearing, etc.  Been on ear drops, antibiotics and steroids.  Infections gone, clogged ears not. The ENT today said nose and ears look fine and "wait it out, be patient and continue Flonase and use Sudafed". That's it??!!!  He also ordered a CATSCAN for my ears.  I asked about tubes he said wouldn't help; I asked about the new balloon proccedure for eustachian tubes and he was very noncomittal  and mentioned the part about the proximity of the artery leading to the brain being adjacent to tubes.  I am literally astonished leaving there today; so upset.  Does this sound familiar to everyone in terms of the steps?  And then of the catscan is normal "just live with this" terrible feeling?  

Thanks for your feedback!

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Ann, I'm sorry you are suffering with this. No, its not all grim! They are coming up with new things every day for ETD. I think you are doing the first things that every dr will tell u to, with the sprays, meds and CT scan. I also have not heard anything good about tubes. After suffering for over 3 yrs, i had the balloon dilation surgery and have been symptom free for 5 yrs. I did a lot of research even back then.  They have PubMed medical statistics on the procedure that you can read on the internet.  Most ENT's arent familiar with the procedure. You don't have to just live with it anymore, not with all the new technology. However, u are only a few weeks into this awful condition, there is a chance your body will fix itself, or the meds will start to work.  Try to stay positive! 

• Posted