Recently diagnosed and wondering how everyone deals with this?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi there, I was recently diagnosed with Pernicious Anemia aged 21 and wanted to find out how everyone else copes with it?

I have finished my loading up period of 5 B12 injections in 2 weeks yet I still feel the same as I did at the beginning. I am constantly tired, I am getting quite forgetful which worries me and I have also broken out in spots on my face, upper chest, back and a little on my legs. I work in retail as well so I have to stand all day which I seem to have major difficulty doing and I'm unsure as to whether this is down to the anemia or laziness.

I also find exercising really difficult or even trying to find the energy to exercise is the most difficult part (although I guess this is normal for most people!). However when that rare time comes when I do exercise, afterwards I feel terrible with fatigue and general out of breath for longer than I should be.

Drinking alcohol also has an extreme effect on me, although I have read drinking alcohol uses the B12 quicker or something along those lines but I am exhausted for 2-3 days after drinking alcohol and I just want to know if this is something I should cut out as well?

Basically I just wanted to know if these sorts of things were normal and if anyone can offer any advice to coping with it and some reassurance that it gets better than this! (I hope)

Thank you in advance.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted