Recently Diagnosed with SVT - I need your advice!

Posted , 14 users are following.

Hello,

In late September of 2018, I was diagnosed with SVT. If I could receive your advice and experiences, that would be truly appreciated.

Background:

I am 30 Years old. I am a designer by trade. I sometimes get health Anxiety. I do not drink or smoke. I am quite thin, 130 lb, 5'10. I exercise about 6 days of the week - Body weight Work Outs + Light Cardio. I was always a night owl; I liked staying up late and sleeping in - not the healthiest of life style choices. I was the type of person who is very productive late at night. In college I pulled many "all-nighters " with no side effects. However, about 9 months ago, I started to experience palpitations and light headedness from sleep deprivation, but the symptoms would only last for minutes, then vanish for the entire day. From then on, I changed my sleeping patterns.

September 2018

In late August I went on an arduous traveling expedition, which required very little sleep and a lot of physical exertion. The thought of me getting very little sleep triggered some anxiety that I would experience these palpitations, lo and behold, the palpitation returned and also hypnagogic jerks when I would try to go to sleep the next day. I decided to go to a Cardiologist immediately upon my return.

Cardiologist Tests

I did a sleuth of tests (ECG, 48 Hour Holter, Stress Test, and Echocardiogram). They caught SVT on the holter monitor, it said I experienced 62 episode of SVT in 48 hours. with traces of Sinus Arrhythmia. The highest heart beat was 132 bpm for 14 beats - not that long at all. However, I did NOT feel anything! No rapid heart beat, no pain, no discomfort, no tightness in chest - Nothing. The Cardiologist prescribed Diltiazem at a low dose, 15 mg. Personally, I stay away from any and all types of medication unless I truly need it. I have rarely taken this medication.

Your Advice