recovery questions

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi there,

My laparoscopic surgery is booked for the end of October to remove hopefully just my right ovary and the 9 cm cyst. 

My questions are: 

1)   How was your recovery?

I have a 4 month old and a 2 year old.. how long until I can lift and take care of them myself?

2)   How long until I can work out again?  I am a yoga teacher so wondering when I should plan to go back to work

Looking for answers for both laparoscopic and not… he won’t know until he is in there what he is doing but hoping he just had to cover his bases and say that just incase and I won’t need to be cut open!     smile

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Definitely ask your dr. I was cleared to do light walking a little bit each day after 2 weeks (could only do 5 mins to start!) and my dr didn't reccomend anything more than light cardio for 12 weeks. I had a laparotomy and large cysts removed from both sides, plus a second op a few days later due to complications. As for lifting, I am Childcare educator and work in a room of 1-2 year olds. I returned to work after 5 weeks and was told not to lift children for at least another 2 weeks. Obviously it's different with your own children, especially the baby! See what the dr thinks, but in the first couple weeks post op you really have to be careful not to lift anything or do anything that puts a strain on your abdomen. Hope this helps!

• Posted

Hi Irene!

I've just had a laparoscopy three weeks ago, although in the end, the surgeon didn't remove the cyst, so my surgery was not as extensive, as yours will be.

I am a fitness instructor too and have been teaching my usual spinning, zumba and circuits classes for the last week-so from two weeks after my surgery. I am being careful but it feels ok. Obviously depends on what they do internally but that's just my personal experience.

Hope it all goes well for you!

Take care xx

• Posted