Recovery time for carpal tunnel syndrome.

Posted , 7 users are following.

I have been a hairstylist for  30 years. I have been told I have severe carpal tunnel syndrome. My pain is really getting bad and I was told I may not be able to continue doing hair without the surgery. 

I need to know realistically how long I will have to be off work for this surgery.

Any hairstylists out there that have had the surgery please tell me how long will my clients have to wait for me?

Im scared to take off more than three weeks but I want the truth of how long it really takes.

Don't need to be a stylist to respond, just thought if there were any out there might know exactly what we do. Im sure its different for everyone.

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

I had bilateral surgery last year. I am a nurse. Expected to be back to work in 4 weeks but it took 3 months d/t developing arthritis in one of my wrists - dominant side, of course. Required weeks of PT to regain strength and flexibility but was able to return to work. Still don't have the strength in that side like it was pre-op. Other side healed within the 4 weeks without a glitch. Carpal tunnel pain totally resolved with the surgery and has never returned. Good luck.

• Posted

If you can get it done and have total relief that’s awesome!  Doctors just told me mine is so severe that nothing can be done 
    • Posted

I had my left hand surjery, its been 4 months. Nd still in pain. Still got swelling arround the area. Electric shocks since had surjery. Electric shoxk getting better now only in cold. Meanin when its lil bit cold get electric shocks.

Had follow up appoinment nd doc said it can take up to one year to heal fully. I was back to work afyer 3.months. but ppl can be different as well. Good luck

• Posted