Rectocele repair 13days ago.. fresh bleedingHi I'm 34 and have 2 children- 4&9. I had a rectocele re

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi I'm 34 and have 2 children- 4&9. I had a rectocele repair plus fentons, perineorrahpy and skin bridge repair nearly 2 weeks ago.

Had no bleeding the first 4 days at home just very heavy discharge . I then came down with a cold cough and sore throat plus temp as well as simultaneously started to bleed fresh blood plus clots which has been a slow trickle for 6 days non stop . I'm a midwife so know what fresh bleeding can be . I went back to see the Consultant yesterday and he said he can see an area which looks irritated and is bleeding high up . I'm now on augmentin for a week just wondered how long any one else's fresh bleeding carried on for , also pain in ovary area that shoots up from I guess incision sites .... hope this doesn't go on too much longer!? X

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Fresh bleeding is common following this surgery but as you know passing clots isn't as normal and something that needs to be investigated. From experience I would expect the bleeding to reduce now you are taking Augmentin. Regarding your ovary pain I'm wondering if it's referred pain from an incision. If you haven't had any problems before I would think that's the most realist cause. It's lovely to read you are a midwife. Sometimes I regret leaving Midwifery and being privileged being present at a new birth.

• Posted

Hi Matron

Thank you for replying . I didn't realise it had posted twice -tried to correct a typo but didn't realise - not sure how can delete??