Recurrence of Chiari malformation

Posted , 60 users are following.

I had decompression 6 years ago for a servere malformation. Recently I have been getting similar symptoms to those I had before my operation . Can a malformation grow again after decompression? I would not like to go through the operation again.

3 likes, 194 replies

194 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Yeltzer, first I must say I'm not a Doctor, I only speak from experience and from running my support group.

I too had a very large herniation and a Syrinx the full length of my spine.

When we have our Decompressions we are told that the Decompression is only to slow down the progression of our conditions.  The only thing the surgeons can give us is that it will stop or ease our headaches, but even then there are no guarantees. I had my Decompression 4 years ago and  have all my symptoms back plus some more. I'm waiting for an appointment to see a Neurologist.

I think your next step would be, if you haven't already, is go back to either your Doctor or Surgeon. Good luck, please keep in touch. smile

• Posted

tHANKS. My own Doctors, who took over a year to send me to a Neurologist and then the wrong one and then othher years wait, tells me I have had the operation and therefore I'm cured. "What do you expect me to do about it?" was the comment. Thats why I was asking, as my Doctors surgery seem to know nothing about the malformation. I'll see if I can get hold of my surgeon . bypassing my GPS
    • Posted

Hi,

I had type 1 and decompression surgery 4 years ago. I have never been told that the surgery was to slow down symptoms.. I was always told that surgery would stop the symptoms getting worse and it may or may not improve symptoms. I was also told by a top neurosurgeon that If the problematic bone had been removed them how can it cause another problem as it simply isn't there!!! Does this make sense to you?

• Posted