Recurring issues after ankle injury

Posted , 5 users are following.

I found several people posting similar issues but am unable to get back after registering so hope you guys can reply on this feed. Little history, I am a nurse and have had repeated injury to my left ankle in last few years. I have had several sprains on the job, and usually I rest, ice and elevate and am fine. In May I once again sprained my ankle, it was pretty nasty. I was bruised for 4-6 weeks, swelling and was in aircast boot and not really weight bearing for quite some time. They did two sets of xrays to rule out fracture due to the swelling and bruising. My pain was not unbearable but not really manageable in my line of work. I am on my feet 10 plus hours a day just at work during 12h shift. So, I have had recurrent swelling since injury and pain is daily. I do not take any pain meds other than motrin. I try to elevate as much as possible when I am home but have had to go to sleep with heating pad on my foot due to pain. Almost two weeks ago, again at work, I hurt my ankle. Not as bad, but my workers comp doctor states my previous injury has not healed and though xray have not shown fracture he is concerned. My workers comp makes the dr go through all sorts of crap to get anything done, which is problem because each week I see a different doctor at this facility. One doctor will say I can return to work with less restrictions, then the next week the doctor will put me back on crazy restrictions and tell me not to wrap. So at this point I am so mad and frustrated. I feel like I am never going to get answers. I called ortho and they wont even see me because it is workers comp. I previously have been because of my foot but it was a while after initial injuries and I thought unrelated. I have had nerve test done, which came back good. Now I am just at point where I feel I can't continue to work my job with this foot pain and I feel my quality of life has really gone down. I can't enjoy things I