Reduction in Knee pain

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have been playing badminton for some 40 years which has resulted in quite severe knee pain in recent times.  Cartilage has worn away from under the knee cap and also the surface of the femoral groove, so essentially, I have `bone on bone` resulting in severe knee pain when I try to jog or do any sporting activities. Tried VMO exercises and undergone several months of treatment/manipulation from an osteopath with limited success.

To try and maintain fitness without putting strain on the knee I have tried cycling but the knee pain remains, however, I have started walking on a treadmill over the last few weeks and to increase the effort, I have set the treadmill on an incline and secondly, and probably significantly, I have worn ankle weights. I have noticed withing days, that my knee pain has reduced. I have gradually increased the weights from 1.2 kg on each leg, to 2.5kg on each leg and recently have gone up to 4kg.I am fairly convinced it is the ankle weights that have made a difference. I have set the treadmill at 3.5 miles per hour to resemble a brisk walk and walk for around 10- 15 minutes on alternate days. In case anyone is tempted, I would not recommend trying to run with ankle weights on as I am sure the extra weight will put significant strain on knee ligaments as the lower leg flicks up whilst running. 

I have researched on the internet and not found any evidence of anyone trying this approach for knee pain, so my account is a purely individual and cannot be used as proof this approach works, but i would think this is fairly safe and worth a try. If anyone does it it a go, I would be interested if they have found any benefit from this or not. Good luck.

0 likes, 17 replies

17 Replies

• Posted

Seems worth a try Jonathan, cheers 😀i went for a 7 mile walk on Monday.it was great going uphill (about 1200 feet) but was getting increasingly worse coming down.

I was wearing a knee brace too btw