Referral to Urology for Cystoscopy. Female 27

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi everyone, new to this group. Just wondering if there’s anyone in here around my age?

I have had blood in Urine for 3 months plus, uti infections in between but not always. Every dip test I do or GP they always show blood in urine. Only symptom I have is swollen abdomen & lower back pain.

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Hayley -- I'm not a doctor, but it sounds as though you have been referred to a urologist to rule out any problems with your urethra and bladder.  Any time there is blood in the urine, it needs to be looked at.  

I have a persistent microhematuria with no evidence of bladder cancer or any other problem - the usual causes have all been ruled out.  

I had a male cystourethroscopy last November to rule out bladder cancer.  I wrote about my experience here because I had such a good one, so I wanted to pass along a few tips I learned to you.

My urologist used a lubricant gel mixed with lidocane, which her assistant injected up into my urethra several minutes before the procedure.  My urologist used a flexible cystoscope, which has a very small diameter.  When she inserted it into me, I felt no pain, but just a very pleasant stretching of my urethra.  When the scope was fully inserted up into my bladder, there was no sensation in that area, even though she was rotating the scope to visualize all the aspects of my bladder.  

So, on an inspection of your urethra and bladder, you should expect to have a very reasonable time if your doctor uses some type of lubricant with an anesthetic agent mixed in.  I would ask about this beforehand, just so you know what to expect.