Regular periods all my life, but nothing for the last six weeks!

Posted , 5 users are following.

Is it normal to have had regular periods for almost 30 years and then not have one for weeks? It's day 45 today. I'm not pregnant (unless it's an immaculate conception!) I'm 42. Anyone else experienced this? TIA

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

HI! Around your age my cycle started to lengthen and stretched out eventually to 60+ days over a couple of years. Now at 46 it's shrunk back to every 20ish days with barely any bleed. It's totally normal to start seeing changes even if you were totally regular for so long. 

• Posted

Thanks I'm new to all this. I've experienced some unsettling 'changes' in the last few years that I thought might be perimenopause, but have been told time and time again that as long as my periods were regular it couldn't be that.

• Posted

Funny but yes, it's normal, and it's called "going through the change." Expect longer wait times and shorter ones too. Eventually, you're moon cycles will take a backseat, and you'll feel really good you don't have to think about them anymore. 

• Posted

Peri menopause started same way for me. Periods got further & further apart for about 10 months until I would just spot a tiny bit then they stopped completely. Its very normal.

• Posted

Hi Azzumi, thanks for your reply. What other changes did you experience, if you don't mind me asking? You went from regular to nothing in ten months? Was that quite quick?

• Posted