Remission and CRPS

Posted , 4 users are following.

Is there anyone in here who completely recovered from ALL symptoms of CRPS and resumed a normal life with regular activity?

🙏🏻🙏🏻

0 likes, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted

Hi!

I'm a registered nurse with full-body CRPS, but before I became affected by this thing, I did a bit less than a year as a nurse case manager for an independent firm. Most of what we did was step in on complex, catastrophic, or difficult to close files for work comp and accident claims.

During that time, I did see one complete recovery: One of the first cases I was ever assigned was a lovely middle-aged lady, wife, and grandmother, who had slipped in the icy parking lot as she stepped up onto the entryway of her place of work. Within 36 hours she was in the OR having the ankle fracture repaired. Four weeks in a hard cast, 4 more weeks in an air cast, and the NP wanted to send her back to work full duty. Patient burst into tears and said: "I haven't put any weight on this thing in 2 months because you guys told me not to. And I'm just supposed to show up to work on Monday morning like nothing's happened??"

NP then somewhat reluctantly wrote for physical therapy for 2 weeks, may repeat for two more weeks if needed, remain on off work status for now, return to surgeon/NP's office for recheck in 4 weeks. NP's last words: "You can't stay home from work forever, you know".

Keep in mind I'm meeting all the players mid-play, and have almost no experience as an NCM at this point.