Remitting Hemifacial Spasm - surgery or not?

Posted , 27 users are following.

Wonder if anyone else experiences long remissions from their HFS? I can sometimes get up to 3 months off before it comes back and this is bliss. I have been offered the MVD surgery at the Frenchay in Bristol and am agonising over whether I should or shouldn't. On a bad day it's yes and then when in remission it's no. Another question is whether anyone else has undergone this surgery at the Frenchay (NHS Hospital) and how they found the whole experience. Thanks if you are able to help me on this.

3 likes, 121 replies

121 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Thanks for sharing all this background Lilith. What can I say, other than I really feel for you. In your line of work this must be a double blow to have HFS, and kind of makes one realise how shallow beauty and beautiful people can be eh. I was a social worker and found that I couldn't do the job any more because I looked more in need of help than my clients! HFS makes one realise how much one needs one's smile and one's face for communication, and you only miss it when you lose it I guess. Sounds like surgery might be as much of a need as an option for you because you're too young to give up on yourself. My consultant was amazing and said to me exactly what I had failed to put into words/thoughts myself........... He said "it sounds like this condition has emotionally blunted you". He could not have put it better, but what won't be blunted is my spirit.

One last thing that might possibly help you. I find that when I take EXCEDRIN Migraine tablets (produced in USA) I get a couple of hours relief from the spasms. Might be worth a try for you?

Very best wishes, Roseann

• Posted