Reoccurring bartholins cyst.

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm 24 and have had bartholins cysts since I was 16. Up until this week I only ever got them on the left side. When I was a teenager I got a cyst turned abscess every 2-3 months and at 18 I had a marsupialization surgury. I didn't get a cyst for 5 years but 4 months ago one appeared again and I had it drained. A month later got another one. Both left side but last week I got my first right side abscess. I feel defeated and I'm in so much pain even being on antibiotics and already had it drained. What is the next step after a marsupialization stops working and both glands are having issues?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

I’m so sorry to hear that. I’ve struggled with reoccurring cysts and it’s awful but you’re not alone. I believe the next step is a gland excision. They go in and remove the gland completely. 
  • Posted

I had my left gland taken out and it was the best decision for me. I’m 23. And ever since i was 18 i would have a cyst on the left side. I had two marsupializations and it still came back. I got the gland out a month ago and it will never return
    • Posted

My biggest concern is that I've read online that if you remove the gland than you'll need outside lubrication for the rest of your life which is so disheartening. Better than consistently getting painful cysts I suppose but what did your doctor say about it?

• Posted

I only got my left taken out and i get wet just fine. But if i had to take both of them out i would. Id rather use lube than have sex with a cyst. 
  • Edited