Returning to work in pain

Posted , 6 users are following.

ive been on the sick and I'm due back to work next week , but I'm still in pain. 

My gallbladder operation is in April but I know that I won't cope at work,  but cannot justify being off till my op. If I return to work and feel ill can I go sick again ? Will I be dismissed ? I'm in constant pain and if I move wrong or bend I'm in agony and I know people will think I'm just putting it on. 

Will I do myself damage ? I'm so worried. 

1 like, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

That , unfortunately is a decision you have to make especially, if your insurance is with your employer. I know I worked with a knee that was bone to bone for years. I came home from work and could not walk with the pain. I called and got an appointment. In 2 weeks I was having knee replacement. What kind of work do you do? 
    • Posted

Hi Angela , I work in a shop , I do a lot of lifting and my warehouse is in a confined place so I have to move heavy cages etc to get to stuff , I could be put to work on the tills which is lighter but just turning my body gives me pain that makes me cry out, and would be standing for 3 hours in same place. I have Tramadol tablets for pain but they make me dizzy and tired and occasionally sick. I'm in the uk so I've been getting sick pay but after 4 weeks it's classed as long term sick, I doubt that they will look kindly to me being off till I get my op. 
    • Posted