Returning to work post ankle ORIF

Posted , 6 users are following.

Dislocation, ORIF of tib/fib fractures in Nov 2017. Finally returned to work 4 weeks ago. Nothing in my life (not even my children) has ever required so much patience and at the same time been so frustrating. For anyone who may be just starting this journey, first of all prayers to you. Second, get ready to have to exercise extreme patience. For anyone who is able to tolerate looking at it, ask your doc to show you your xrays. I have been an ortho nurse for 12 years but never understood just how complex the ankle is. My ortho docs at work say it is one of the most difficult joints to heal because the entire weight of the body is on it. Give your body time, take it slow and easy, and be patient.

5 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

I can totally relate! I am 6 1/2 months postop orif for bimalleolar fx, plate and screws. I went back to work after 13 weeks, full time. Bad move, 12 hour shifts in the ER.  I was physically healed enough to do it, but at the end of the shift my ankle up to the knee was swollen and painful. Limping, oh yeah. By morning, after ice and elevation, leg and ankle normal size.  Kept going to physical therapy twice a week which saved me.

I highly recommend easing back into your schedule if you can afford it. I still had plenty of sick time left, could have done it. I was just in too big of a hurry to get my life back to normal.  I’ve done fine but think I would have done better not hurrying things.  Still a bit of soreness and swelling at the end of working 12 hours but it’s sooooo much better. This takes time. Frustrating at every turn.

• Posted

I feel the same way about getting my life back.  I’m 5 Weeks post op for 2 broken ankles.  Not weight bearing yet but I’m a teacher and school starts in 3 Weeks.  I want to but I’m not sure if they will let me or if I should.
    • Posted