Revision surgery in three weeks.

Posted , 4 users are following.

I will have a partial revision of the tibial portion in three weeks. This will be the third surgery on that knee. I had tkr in 2010, a poly swap and clean out due to sepsis from a tiith abscess. I am nervous because the doctor said I would probably have shin pain for six months. I am a teacher and returned to the classroom just six wks. after the other two procedures; I even returned the second time with a pic line. Both times I started physical therapy as an outpatient one week after surgery. Any insight regarding revision surgery?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I am 6 wks post tkr complete revision after a fall that caused severe anterior dislocation... I had no viable tendons, muscles etc left so the prosthesis I have is much more invasive into the femur and tibia which resulted in shin and thigh pain I didn't have the first time. The pain in my shin was worrisome, particularly in the the first 4 weeks or so but it has improved bit by bit, now it is still sometimes uncomfortable but much improved and only intermittently. Best of luck to you!!

• Posted

The fact that u were able to return to teaching so soon after the TKR shows that u are fit and healthy to cope with surgery of this kind. I hope it will be the same for you this time.

I am 7 months post op from having TKR and there is no way I can return to work.

I am in constant pain which gives me sleepless nights hence writing this to u when I should be asleep instead of waiting for an ice pack to kick in and relieve some of the pain.

My walking is shocking. My balance is all over the place . 🏷I've had2 falls -

Anyway put your trust in God which Is what. I should be doing x

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!