Robotic Hysterectomy

Posted , 5 users are following.

My doctor wants to do the robotic hysterectomy. Can anyone give me insights on this type of surgery? How was your recovery? Thanks

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

My recovery from tvh and anterior repair was so straight forwArd hun.

I have no experience with robotic but I know the recovery is a lot quicker.

I'm sure you will have more ladies to answer.x

• Posted

Hello,

I had robotic hysterectomy in December. I am 54.  First week of recovery was ok then terrible back pain.  I had a pre-exisiting condition - degenerated disc at L4-L5.  I requested physical therapy for my back which helped immensely.  I was released from PT about a week ago.  I basically have to keep working on my core body strength.  The other surprise is "swelly belly" and subsequent weight gain.  Good luck with your upcoming procedure.

• Posted

I had robotically assisted vaginal hysterectomy (LAVH) using the Da Vinci method 2 weeks today. I’m very lucky my surgeon could do it this way as I had a very large external fibroid. I was in the hospital one night. Recovery hasn’t been bad. You will be tired, exhausted. So sleep. I have a high pain tolerance so pain wasn’t too bad. I had 6 small, one inch incisions on my belly which have healed quickly.  I am still getting a bit of bleeding and discomfort, but only if I over do it. You need to remind yourself not to over do it. I’m so glad I avoided abdominal surgery as recovery for that is more intense. 

Let me know if you have any questions.   Nik

• Posted

I didn't have a lot of my pain after my robotic hysterectomy which was for cancer and I also had 16 lymph nodes removed. I spent one night in the hospital then did have soreness and tenderness in my belly area. 3 months later I still have tenderness if I wear something snug around my middle. I believe it was much better than having an incision. Good luck, you will be fine.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!