Robotic Simple Prostateomy for BPH?

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hello everyone,

I am new to this thread and have read many of your posts. I do need your advise for my problem. Thank you very much. Here's a quick summary of my BPH journey.

I am 67 and have had BPH for 20 years. I've had 3 biopsies over the years, the most recent was 2011. All were negative. I've been on an alpha blocker for 10 years and was on Proscar for 5 years and am now on Avodart since 2011. Last fall I had 2 "liquid biopsies", one was the MiPS urine test and the other was the Apifiny blood test that looks for autoantibodies to PCa. Both tests were extremely low for PCa risk so I can say that I am hopefully clear.

During the past 15 years my PSA has fluctuated between 4 and 15. Currently it is about 11. In 2011 my prostate size was measured at 150 gm. My urologist here in Ontario will only offer me Turp or an open prostatectomy.

My symptoms are the usual ones . A few weeks ago I travelled to another clinic to measure my prostate size (TRUS) and was surprised it had grown to 280gms. The bladder and kidneys still looked ok but showing the usual signs of stress. (My own uro here just yells at me when I suggest alternative solutions or diagnostics).

The uro who measured my prostate a few weeks ago said there was a large median lobe. He does robotic simple prostatectomies (SP) and offered me that. But last week I had the opportunity to see another local uro who also does robotic prostate procedures. He did a cystoscopy on me ( my first ) and said I had NO median lobe and would not benefit from a robotic SP. He said my prostate was very long and extended along the urethra in the transitional zone region. He said my bladder looked ok. It was interesting to watch it all.