Rt Knee Pain - MRI Showed Slight Medial Meniscus Wear

Posted , 5 users are following.

Heyy,

Merry Christmas and a happy new year! 

I’m new to the site but I thought I’d give a shot at asking for some help! 

I’m an 18 y/o climbing Instructor and have suffered with right knee pain for a couple of years now. Recently it got bad to the point where it was unstable and painful without bearing weight. I went to my GP who is a sports team medic (so knew his stuff) and he ordered an MRI as he was concerned about the cartilage. 

I had the scan last week and I’ve just got the report which just states ‘There is not much on your scan except slight wear to medial meniscus but no tear’. I’m obviously very relieved but I’m really surprised as my knee hurt just from laying down during the scan. 

I was a national athlete for discus and running several years back when the pain started after a funny turn to the knee. Ever since then it grinds and pops like a car going over gravel, sore aches when idle, pain when bearing weight (going up/down stairs etc) and when lying down and bending the knee. 

Is this really all just down to ‘slight wear to the meniscus’? How should I go about it now as I really need to do something as I can’t progress in my job if it remains like this? For that reason, I really am open for any treatment options. 

Thank you so much and I hope I’ve posted in the right place! smile

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Annie,