Ruptured anyurism into stomach with bleeding out.

Posted , 2 users are following.

My father was found dead in his apartment. He appeared to have vomited blood and/or bled out through his mouth. The autopsy showed cause of death as "heart failure." He lived in a very non-suburban area.

Is it possible he had an abdominal aeortic anyurism that burst through the wall of his stomach causing fatal blood loss through his mouth?

This has been tormenting me since his passing. I cannot believe that a "normal" cardiac event would have caused him to lose so much blood.

I am sincerely grateful for any help you can be.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I'm not a doctor, but it does not sound like heart failure to me either.  My husband recently had surgery for an aortic aneurysm.  It had not ruptured but I have done a lot of reading because I was wondering what would have happened if it had ruptured.  You can find information about what happens when one ruptures if you search on the Internet.  It sounds to me like this could have been what happened to your dad because of all the blood.  I don't think that would happen from a heart attack, but like I said, I'm not a doctor.

• Posted

Thanks, Annette. I'm not a doctor either, but it's unlike any cardiac event I've ever heard of. My impression was that they saw an elderly man, saw he had heart issues and didn't take it further. I've looked into the hemorrhaging that happens when one bursts, but the information seems to address internal bleeding. I was wondering if bleeding into the stomach is even possible with the aeorta. It's been perplexing. I hope you're husband's doing well!

• Posted