scabies scare

Posted , 6 users are following.

so i had a friend over 6 days ago who had been treated for scabies 2 weeks prior to that. He hung out for a while at my apartment, just sitting on the couch and I was on the opposite side of the couch. What are the chances that I contracted scabies? We did not touch at all, but shared the same blanket while we were sitting on the couch talking. I didn't notice him scratching on anything like that... but we went to dinner just 3 days ago and i DID notice him scratching a lot... I'm scared the scabies could get into my couch?? So ive washed all the slip covers and everything, and sprayed the cushions with permethrin... any advice? 

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

You should be okay ! Especially if treated before he was at your house !
  • Posted

Take a Iron and Iron your couch then spray it with the half & half of the window cleaner and amonia.I am not a doctor but to be on the safe side I would keep checking any kind of scratching you do if they become welped up and a red like a pimple  the go see your doctor.in the mean time I would play it safe and wash with Head & Shoulders Shampoo and use the clear tape on it. If you see any black spots on the tape then take a magnify glass and look at to make for sure. You can take benydril for the itching.

concerned person

• Posted

You would have to be pretty unlucky to pick it up that way.  They say that you can pick it up from shared towels etc... but who knows. It usually is bodily contact  It would take about 3 weeks before you would notice any symptoms so in the meantime it may be wise to use a sulphur soap in the shower daily for a while  it's a bit drying  so you could apply a nice body lotion maybe something with coconut oil.  As for him scratching that's understandable because the itching doesn't stop right away, hopefully he did have a follow up treatment? try not to worry until you know you've got something to worry about.

take care   

• Posted