Sciatic pain or nerve regeneration pain??

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello,

I'm hoping somebody has answers based on experience. I've been battling sciatica do to L3 L5 5mm disc bulges for a little over four months now. I get my sciatic shocks on my outer right knee. I'm down to 1-3 shocks a day. Some days are good and I could see the light at the end of the tunnel but there are other days that aren't so good. My shocks last for one second and a powerful. I'm currently seeing a chiropractor and a physical therapist. For pain, I could only take natural supplements because I only have 1 kidney and cannot take over the counter medication. For some reason lately, I've been getting mild- medium shocks that linger for about 5 Seconds. I do have to remember to breathe during these episodes because it can't take my breath away. Does anyone know if this could be possible nerve regeneration or just part of sciatica?

I would love some help and answers if anyone knows.

Appreciative,

Mario Macias

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Mario

This is a great question and because you are unable to tolerate painkillers you are able to accurately describe your symptoms.

I also had these shocks down my legs after spinal fusion surgery. For me, I was given Lyrica to control the pain. It felt more like a moderate uncomfortable current going through my legs rather than a bolt or shock. Like you, I wasnt sure if due to healing or deteriorating but then my neurosurgeon didnt know either. You dont say whether you've had surgery or if just been diagnosed with bulging discs. Why do you think its healing? Have you had any other treatment eg physiotherapy?

I recommend you go and see your doctor.

• Posted