sciatica

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi wondering if anyone has got any advice

I've had sciatica for 3 months now been on various different meds I'm currently taking amitriptyline 50mg along with paracetamol the amitriptyline is wiping me out I can't function properly I'm always tired I'm sure it's also making me depressed. I'm a personal trainer and I teach around 20 classes a week obviously I havnt been able to do this for 3 months now because the pain is unbearable I've tried acupuncture 4 times it did nothing for me. I have physio in 2 weeks time. Has anyone got any advice on what I can do to get rid of sciatica it's driving me mad

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I am in a similar situation but a bit further down the line. I would suggest you get an MRI scan ASAP so you know what is causing the problem. You will probably have to pay for it though or be prepared to wait another three months. If you have a disc problem, then acupuncture, physio etc will have very little impact. Other than that, walk as much as you can and regularly do the mckenzie (cobra) stretches at least three times a day. Pain killers again will have limited to no effect. I have been taking naproxen and amyltriptaline since August and neither have had much impact for me. Good luck.
  • Posted

I've dealt with sciatica many, many times over decades.  All depends on what's causing the issue:

1. Trauma: If you fell on your hip (I did this at times while skating without my hockey pads on), that could knock it out of whack.  Chiropractors have this "pretzel twist" technique that cures it in 10 seconds.  Had it done lots of times.

2. Alignment: If your hips/pelvis/lower spine is out of alignment from any cause, it needs to be re-aligned.  Chiropractor twice a week for a few weeks always does the trick for me.