Sciatica pain or something else?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello all, hoping someone can help. A few weeks ago I woke up with severe pain behind my right bum. I'd had a good 2 hour training session but had a niggle in my top of leg for a few weeks, the next day it Felt like the top of my hamstring had a knife in it. Pain can go down to behind my knee but the main pain is always top of my leg. Phoned the Dr he said sciatica and give me Co codamol and naproxen. 3weeks on I have had to borrow some crutches to help me move. They now don't help. I can't sit in my car, the pain is so bad. I've been in bed for the last 4 days unable to move. I stood up today but the pain was so bad. The main concern now is... pain usually goes away if I lie in certain positions but now it won't go away, it is constant acute pain. I've got a good pain threshold, I was a boxer and martial artist so can take a kick but this knocks me for 6, the pain isn't subsiding and Dr only talks over phone atm and said rest and painkillers. I've a feeling it's worse than what he thinks. My lower back doesn't hurt but it doesn't feel right.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Edited

If it is sciatica, then what your doctor advised you first was fine, but it should never be just painkillers. Even in the worst of the pain, it has to be accompanied with exercises to get the sciatica nerve clamp (the reason why you get the pain) to lessen. There are a large number of good exercises on YouTube that you can follow (DM me if you want links to the ones that I followed). Rest or bed rest is unfortunately the worst things you can do for sciatica. One cannot and should not continue hard training or anything drastic, but specific exercises along with painkillers / anti inflammation drugs are the best remedy.

Hope you get better...and please don't ignore sciatica exercises.

• Edited