second opinion

Posted , 4 users are following.

My enlarged parotid gland, i am told, is benign but I have been attending ENT now for over two years and want this unsightly lump removed.   The hospital have hinted that this would be a cosmetic operation which could lnot be funded by the NHS.  Is it reasonable for me to get a second opinion?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Absoutley get a second opinion....how do you know its benign? was it biopsied? or are they saying it's benign because most parotid/salivary gland tumors are. I was told by my ENT that it needed to come out regardless because it will continue to grow. Anyway- I got mine taken out (and yes it was getting bigger) in Oct 2015 and it did turn out to be stage 2 acinic cell carcinoma.

Go get it checked-second opinion never hurts! Good luck!!

• Posted

Thanks for your reply. Yes, I have had various tests, ultrasound,  needle biopsy and blood tests - but although told all these proved negative (and while I am not overjoyed at the prospect of an operation) - would definitely like to be rid of it.   I am having a word with my GP.
  • Posted

Even IF benign it would never be considered cosmetic. The proximity to the facial nerve makes it a medical medically necessary situation. Definitely find another doctor! !
    • Posted

Thank you Wendy.  Please see my reply to Stacie.   I  am really disappointed at the remarks of the last Registrar I saw.  The thing is over the last two years I have only seen the Consultant once - other times the appointments were with Registrars.    

i

• Posted