SELF CATHETER

Posted , 4 users are following.

HI ITS CARL 15289 CAN ANY ONE HELP ME AS I HAVE ONLY USED THEM ONCE BE FOR

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

What problem are you having? Are you following the instructions in the leaflet that comes with the catheters? I have been using these several times per day for the past ten years or so, without problems, so I'll try to help if I can.

• Posted

Leonard/Carl, I have been using an intermittent catheter for roughly four months. I know the suggested frequency is 4-6 times daily (every 4-6 hours). There are times that 8 hours pass (no urge, mind busy with other things). I'm curious to know how regular both of you are (using the catheter).

Also, do you track the amount of your discharge? I range between 150 - 700 cc's (normally 200 - 500 cc's). Curious to know if that seems comparable with your experience.

• Posted

Michael - I think my frequency is much the same as yours. I don't bother with any rota, just go when I feel the need to, the same as when I did before I started using catheters. In the past year I've started waking once in the night to urinate, which is a nuisance but just a minor one. I haven't measured my discharge for years, but again I think it is in the same range as yours. When I first started I got volumes of up to 900 ml, but I don't wait until I am so full nowadays.