Self Diagnosed Newbie

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey My name is Vicki and I'm 23. I've recently self diagnosed my self with this condition. Had it in my groin/inner thigh for about a year. First time was told by Dr it was from shaving which I did not believe as I've been shaving for last 10 years. I didn't get the lumps that often. But in the last month I've had 3 two have gone pusy, the first one I put a pin through and got all the nastiness out and it went. This latest one started getting white and purple from this morning and its got bigger and bigger and the day has gone on. When to drs this evening and been prescribed two weeks I'd anti biotics and hibiscrub hoping this is going to work. It's such an awful condition the pain, the scaring and the embarressment. Hope this forum can help us all 😊 thanks for reading my essay 

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Argh please don't put a pin through any more vicki,  I know it's tempting but you can make it much worse as well.  

And don't diagnose yourself either. Doctors don't know about HS so you need to ask for a referral to a dermatologist as there are treatments available especially as yours has not spread.  But if it is then it probably will then some treatments would be ruled out.  

Mine has spread and I have been told the only way to deal with them now is on an individual basis (apart from the usual antibiotics that is) and to have any that keep recurring in the same spot incised with local anaesthetic.

Your doctor can lance any that aren't infected and will make sure they are sterile.  The infection can be dangerous,  especially if your immune system is low,  and can cause septacemia.  Take them seriously please.  

• Posted