Serious health anxiety and lymph nodes

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone

I'm new to this forum this is my first post. I have been battling anxiety for nearly 10 years and in november my latest flare up began after I had an endoscopy due to indigestion. I had to have a biopsy done as they found a small lipoma. The wait for the biopsy results triggered something in my head and I have been severely anxious over anything to do with my health ever since. (Biopsy was clear) i have two young children aged 3 and 1 and this health anxiety is ruining my life, I just want to be a normal worry free mum to my babies. I have this constant fear that I'm going to die of a terminal illness and I'm going to leave my children without a mummy. My latest fear is lymph nodes, my gp checked them a few months ago as I have a couple in my neck and groin. She said she wasn't worried as they're moveable and she said she's felt hundreds of them in her career. However, the fear has resurfaced and I'm worried again, they haven't changed since I last saw her but I can't help but worry. I spent alot of time on Google and I'm petrified that I have lymphoma or leaukemia. Can anyone relate to me? I am coming up to my 4th week of 20mg citalopram which has slightly taken the edge off but the worries are still.taking over my mind, should I go on a higher dose? I'm back at the gp in Monday for a review. Also I'm waiting for an appointment with a psychiatrist. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thankyou x

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

I hear you...! I'm suffering terribly with health anxiety. My latest thing that's going to take me away from my young children is either appendicitis or ovarian cancer. I havent confirmed which yet! But the intermittent grumbly pain I've had in my lower right tummy for the last 10 days, has me in a right tiz!