Sertraline advice?

Posted , 7 users are following.

I've been depressed for a few years on and off. It got worse a few weeks ago so my doc put me on sertraline 50mg (Lustral). I had a lot of side effects but stuck with it in hope it would get better, I am feeling better than I was in general but I am very up and down. This week I've had a really good couple of days feeling incredible, laughing and happy and sociable and as afraid (I'm very shy person) but then I suddenly crash and it feels like everything just starts falling apart again, I cant stop crying, suicidal thoughts going through my head sad

It isnt as bad as my low moods before I started the sertraline but they are very intense and its hard to believe it will get better when I feel like this. I'm a student at uni, I'm very alone, I have friends but noone I can confide in about this :'( I really dont want to stop taking it because I cant live my life without it at the moment, but will these ups and downs get better? Anyone else had anything similar? 

Thanks xxx

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi sophie sorry to hear your feeling so down ! But your not alone it just seems that way have you got someone at uni you can talk to i presume your uni would have councillers for.just this reason as not everyone coups well when away from home.! Have you voiced your concerns with your doctor if not it might be worth doing so ! Regards the suicidal thought have you thought about phoning the samaritans they are not judgmental and they will listen to your concerns and point you in the right direction for help and further help ! If you.want.i can send you the number for samaritans ! Please take care and i wish you the best and please let me know how you are getting on ! David
  • Posted